Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 2011-05-20, 12:39 AM   #11
Tommit
Veteran Member
 
Tommit's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2011-03-23
Location: Dark Server, USA
Posts: 2,378
Tommit Ordinary Player -- showing a lot of promise
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ~Matt~ View Post
There are many websites you can use to see what your currently running at.. speedtest.net is one. It has servers all over the world so you can compare your internet on a national average aswell as international average.
Well according to speedtest.net my results while running conquer are:
Ping: 30s, Download speed 5.12 mbps, and upload 0.59 mbps. I have AT&T high speed internet and am quite sure I should have mroe then this. Am I wrong?

But even at this lower speed I still get dc'd less then him but it does occur.
__________________
Tommit
Pure Ninja - LVL 140
Server: Element - Dark
Guild Leader of Ki11az
...


REAL GAMERS don't need BOTS
Tommit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-05-20, 01:14 AM   #12
~Matt~
Veteran Member
 
~Matt~'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 2011-03-13
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
Posts: 2,446
~Matt~ Ordinary Player -- showing a lot of promise
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tommit View Post
Well according to speedtest.net my results while running conquer are:
Ping: 30s, Download speed 5.12 mbps, and upload 0.59 mbps. I have AT&T high speed internet and am quite sure I should have mroe then this. Am I wrong?

But even at this lower speed I still get dc'd less then him but it does occur.
umm, the problem is, when they say "30mb cable" or whatever you have, that means 30mb is the max speed.. rarely ever does it reach max speed and is often a fraction of what the max is!

Over in the UK, max is like 20mb if i remember right, see how far behind we are! and we had 20mb here, but were only running at just over 1mbps.. changed providers, and slightly better, at 4mbps
__________________
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|||||
Name: ~Ma††~ Class: Wat – War – Tro Level: 130-130-140 |||||
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||


How to change your nickname

My Suggestions:
Conquer 3.0
No switching teams in Team PK
Guild Honorary Positions Tweak
~Matt~ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-05-20, 06:13 AM   #13
8690281
Full Member
 
Join Date: 2011-03-11
Posts: 110
8690281 Ordinary Player -- showing a lot of promise
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LadyGothica View Post
Wow... 30mbps? Your getting jipped dude... I receive 100mbps through my ISP lol. Cable of course :P

Btw whats your PC's specs?
I believe you're getting the speed of your network card (100 Mbits/sec) confused with the speed of your Internet connection, as most ISPs do not currently offer speeds over 20 Mbits/sec.
8690281 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-05-20, 06:23 AM   #14
~Matt~
Veteran Member
 
~Matt~'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 2011-03-13
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
Posts: 2,446
~Matt~ Ordinary Player -- showing a lot of promise
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 8690281 View Post
I believe you're getting the speed of your network card (100 Mbits/sec) confused with the speed of your Internet connection, as most ISPs do not currently offer speeds over 20 Mbits/sec.
depends entirely where in the world you are. It is possible to get a lot faster.. look at this for example..

Quote:
Sigbritt Löthberg's home has been supplied with a blistering 40 Gigabits per second connection, many thousands of times faster than the average residential link and the first time ever that a home user has experienced such a high speed.

But Sigbritt, who had never had a computer until now, is no ordinary 75 year old. She is the mother of Swedish internet legend Peter Löthberg who, along with Karlstad Stadsnät, the local council's network arm, has arranged the connection.

"This is more than just a demonstration," said network boss Hafsteinn Jonsson.

"As a network owner we're trying to persuade internet operators to invest in faster connections. And Peter Löthberg wanted to show how you can build a low price, high capacity line over long distances," he told The Local.

Sigbritt will now be able to enjoy 1,500 high definition HDTV channels simultaneously. Or, if there is nothing worth watching there, she will be able to download a full high definition DVD in just two seconds.

The secret behind Sigbritt's ultra-fast connection is a new modulation technique which allows data to be transferred directly between two routers up to 2,000 kilometres apart, with no intermediary transponders.

According to Karlstad Stadsnät the distance is, in theory, unlimited - there is no data loss as long as the fibre is in place.

"I want to show that there are other methods than the old fashioned ways such as copper wires and radio, which lack the possibilities that fibre has," said Peter Löthberg, who now works at Cisco.

Cisco contributed to the project but the point, said Hafsteinn Jonsson, is that fibre technology makes such high speed connections technically and commercially viable.

"The most difficult part of the whole project was installing Windows on Sigbritt's PC," said Jonsson.
__________________
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|||||
Name: ~Ma††~ Class: Wat – War – Tro Level: 130-130-140 |||||
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||


How to change your nickname

My Suggestions:
Conquer 3.0
No switching teams in Team PK
Guild Honorary Positions Tweak

Last edited by MattNinja; 2011-05-20 at 06:27 AM..
~Matt~ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-05-20, 06:44 AM   #15
Eurochic
Junior Member
 
Eurochic's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2011-03-13
Location: Blighty
Posts: 75
Eurochic Ordinary Player -- showing a lot of promise
Default

I am on Virgin Broadband, Fibre Optics and boy is it fast. I can have 50 mbps but don't see the need for that speed. It does what it says on the tin
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_ikky View Post
Mods are like underwear, you should change them daily!
Eurochic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-05-20, 06:50 AM   #16
~Matt~
Veteran Member
 
~Matt~'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 2011-03-13
Location: Wales, United Kingdom
Posts: 2,446
~Matt~ Ordinary Player -- showing a lot of promise
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eurochic View Post
I am on Virgin Broadband, Fibre Optics and boy is it fast. I can have 50 mbps but don't see the need for that speed. It does what it says on the tin
Virgin broadband isnt actually fibre optics
Its fibre optics upto your local telephone exchange, then from your local exchange to your house, it is still copper wired.
Use speedtest.net to see exactly what speed your currently operating at
__________________
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
|||||
Name: ~Ma††~ Class: Wat – War – Tro Level: 130-130-140 |||||
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||


How to change your nickname

My Suggestions:
Conquer 3.0
No switching teams in Team PK
Guild Honorary Positions Tweak
~Matt~ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-05-20, 12:59 PM   #17
Tommit
Veteran Member
 
Tommit's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2011-03-23
Location: Dark Server, USA
Posts: 2,378
Tommit Ordinary Player -- showing a lot of promise
Default

I can't even bring up the Arena pk elite to watch and bid because all the lag in my server today. I am in training ground right now and throwing a fog a minute. Not sure if all servers is having this problem but all in world chat is complaining about it. Just goes to show the lag we get here. That's why I can not wait until we can do server transfers...please bring them soon. I tried to message GM through Service chat and it tells me the person I am tryign to contact is offline (or somethign along these lines) lol.
__________________
Tommit
Pure Ninja - LVL 140
Server: Element - Dark
Guild Leader of Ki11az
...


REAL GAMERS don't need BOTS
Tommit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-05-20, 02:28 PM   #18
~Nike~
Junior Member
 
~Nike~'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 2011-03-23
Location: Poland/Sveden
Posts: 67
~Nike~ Ordinary Player -- showing a lot of promise
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LadyGothica View Post
Wow... 30mbps? Your getting jipped dude... I receive 100mbps through my ISP lol. Cable of course :P

Btw whats your PC's specs?
You do not take it you're stupid Ithaca voice will always be xd
__________________
Det som inte dödar oss, kommer vi att stärka
~Nike~ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-05-20, 02:33 PM   #19
~Nike~
Junior Member
 
~Nike~'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 2011-03-23
Location: Poland/Sveden
Posts: 67
~Nike~ Ordinary Player -- showing a lot of promise
微笑

Quote:
Originally Posted by LadyGothica View Post
Wow... 30mbps? Your getting jipped dude... I receive 100mbps through my ISP lol. Cable of course :P

Btw whats your PC's specs?
You do not take it you are stupid to vote and this will always be omg only .........
__________________
Det som inte dödar oss, kommer vi att stärka
~Nike~ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2011-05-20, 08:28 PM   #20
Blackknite
Junior Member
 
Blackknite's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2011-05-01
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 66
Blackknite Ordinary Player -- showing a lot of promise
Default

I just ran my speedtest.net with my comcast cable i get 27 mbs downloaded and 4 mbs uploaded.

~~Computer specs~~

Manufacturer: Self

Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz (8 CPUs), ~2.7GHz

Memory: 8192MB RAM

Hard Drive: 500 GB

Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT

Monitor: Dual Monitors

Sound Card: Speakers (Realtek High Definition Audio)

Speakers/Headphones: Emachine/Logitech

Keyboard: Standard PS/2 Keyboard

Mouse: Microsoft USB IntelliMouse Explorer 4.0 (IntelliPoint)

Mouse Surface:

Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1 (7601.win7sp1_rtm.101119-1850)

Motherboard: ASUS P6T

Computer Case: CM 690 Nvidia Edition
__________________
~~Blackknite~~
ninja, warrior, Fire Taoist
Server: Element - Dark
Guild Leader Of UnderwldKnights


TRUE GAMERS don't BOT

^ When bots outnumber real players a game is not a game anymore.

Last edited by blackknite90; 2011-05-20 at 08:39 PM..
Blackknite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:13 PM.